Thursday, September 16, 2010

More award updates

  • The Maxwell Award, given to the game's most outstanding player, recognized performances by the following:
Oklahoma sophomore QB Landry Jones threw for 380 yards and four touchdowns. 

Alabama's senior QB Greg McElroy completed 16-of-24 passes for 229 yards and two touchdowns.    

Arkansas QB Ryan Mallett completed 28-for-43 passes for an even 400 yards and three touchdowns. 

Oregon sophomore RB LaMichael James rushed for 134 yards on 16 carries including a 72-yard touchdown run. 

Nevada senior QB Colin Kaepernick completed 72% of his passes and ran or threw for 402 yard. He also rushed for 161 yards on 11 carries.

  • The Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player) recognized these athletes: 
Michigan State LB Greg Jones led the Spartans with 11 tackles, forcing a fumble and helping to hold Florida Atlantic to just 45 yards rushing.

Purdue DE Ryan Kerriganhad a dozen tackles, including four for minus yards, and a pass breakup.

Florida senior safety Ahmad Black picked off two passes in Florida's 38-14 win over South Florida, while leading the Gators with eight tackles.

  • The Thorpe Award, presented to the top defensive back, honored Rutgers Joe Lefeged as its player of the week.
  • The award for top center, the Rimington Award, noted three players to watch tis week:
Georgia Tech's Sean Bedford
Mississippi State's J.C. Brignone
Auburn's Ryan Pugh

No comments: